Montrose beach

Mars view from Montrose Beach

Mars is brighter than it’s been for six years, since December 2007. Last evening provided the best weather for taking a few snapshots of the red planet. Montrose Beach in Chicago Illinois has some good locations without much interruption from any of the big skyscrapers. Upon my arrival I was concerned because of the big cloud cover but as the sun went down the stars began to appear. It took me a while to locate Mars. Despite been able to see it with my eyes, I could not lock on it with my camera lens. Consider my lens is only a 80mm,

not really the proper gear. I decided the best way to capture the red planet  was to find a point of reference. The closer I got to Lake Michigan the harder it became to find any without loosing composition. I decided to walk back to the beach and finally found a good spot. The light tower gave me what I needed and this is the only shot (Featured Image) that captures the red planet the best and although it is only a small dot on the upper left hand corner I am happy with the results. I am sure you can probably find far better shots across the web but this one is the best I could achieve with my gear. I am also including eight more pictures because of the star formation within them.

This entry was published on April 9, 2014 at 4:19 pm. It’s filed under Stars and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

One thought on “Mars view from Montrose Beach

  1. We have way to much light pollution in London to even consider any projects like this.

Leave a Reply

